“How Can I Worship You Today, God?”

August 11, 2010

That’s the question that I have asked my worship team members to ask themselves each and every day from now through September 4th.  I asked them to take at least 10 minutes a day from this Monday through September 4th to simply remove themselves from every distraction of life (cell phones, computers, internet, music, etc.) and ask God “How can I worship you today?”  Then, once they’ve asked, I challenged them to simply listen for His response.  When we ask, we have to listen.  So many times, we come to God with cares or concerns or desire to grow, but when it comes to waiting and listening for Him to speak.

Also, during this time, God has directed me to strip everything away except the basics when it comes to worshipping Him, both on Sunday mornings and in other aspects.  But why?  What caused this?

The other night, Thursday evening to be exact, we had worship team practice here at the church.  While the music was good and we all wanted to contribute to worship, there was something awry in our midst.  I kept thinking perhaps that we were just having an “off” night, but that things would clear up by Sunday morning, the clouds would peel back, and God would send the “attaboy” angel to make things better.

On Friday night, after having been troubled by it all day and evening, I finally realized that God was telling me “no” and to listen up because He had other plans.  So… after a lot of praying and consideration, I yielded to God’s leading.  I wrote an e-mail to the worship team letting them know that there would be no “full team” on Sunday, and explained why.  Instantly upon clicking “send” I felt such a huge calm and peace; it was as if God was saying directly to me “NOW you’re getting it, Brian.”

Sunday morning came and I lead a simpler, more intimate worship set along with a good friend of mine.  It was not about us.  It wasn’t about the lights, the video, the instruments, the (insert distraction or object of focus here).  No.  It was truly about worshipping the God of all creation.

So why did I tell you this story?  Simple.  I want to invite you to take this challenge with me.  Even if you’re not a part of our church, or of the worship team, I’d like to invite you to take this challenge with us from now through September 4th, 2010.  Take 10 minutes each and every day from now until then and ask God one question: “How Can I Worship You Today?”

I’ll follow up on this between now and then, and also do a conclusion on the 4th.  Until then, though, feel free to leave a comment telling how God is showing YOU how you can worship Him today.

Leading by serving,

Pastor Brian

Comments are closed.

